tcm_classic_shorts_2007_logo.gifThe winner and runners up of the 2008 TCM Classic Shorts competition will be announced at an award ceremony held as part of the Times bfi 52nd London Film Festival on London’s South Bank. A panel of judges, ranging from directors to actors, have chosen the films that they feel worthy of first, second and third prizes. These film makers will receive £5,000, £3,000 and £2,000 respectively. This year’s judging panel includes Wolfgang Petersen, Rutger Hauer, Cillian Murphy and James Franco.

The final six films, which this year include entries from across Europe, the Middle East and Africa will be screened at the award ceremony and the prize giving will follow. The nominations are (in no particular order): E Finita La Commedia directed by Jean-Julie Collette and Olivier Toller and produced by Helicotronc; The Wednesdays directed by Conor Ferguson and produced by Anne-Marie Naughton; Leaving directed by Richard Penfold and Sam Hearn and produced by Rachel Drummond-Hay; Ripple directed by Paul Gowers and produced by Richard Batty; Gone Fishing directed by Chris Jones and produced by Ivan Francis Clements and Nine-Ball directed by Nikolina Gillgren.

TCM Classic Shorts judging panel 2008
James Franco
Nick Goldsmith
Mikael Hafstrom
Rutger Hauer
Agnieszka Holland
Jason Isaacs
Garth Jennings
Cillian Murphy
Wolfgang Petersen
Darrell Roodt
Istvan Szabo
Stephen Woolley
Wendy Ide
Jason Solomons
Nev Pierce
Dan Joli

Find more info about TCM Shorts here