The members of the International Short Film Jury Zita Carvalhosa (Brazil), Max Dax (Germany) and Samm Haillay (UK) award the following prizes:

Awards 2010: Händelse Vid Bank, Hayerida, Colivia, Venus vs Me

The Golden Bear for the best short film goes to
Händelse Vid Bank
by Ruben Östlund (Sweden)
“His film is a real reflection on our times and the role played by media. Filmed with a single camera without a single cut, we zoom in and out of the picture as if using a CCTV camera. The dialogues are perfect, humanity is explained with humour.”

The Silver Bear goes to

by Shai Miedzinski (Israel)
“The Israeli desert sets a dusty and intense background for a coherent road movie about loss. It’s hard to depict grief, a transition for a family, but the director listens to the wind blow and frames the emotion.”

The DAAD scholarship goes to
Adrian Sitaru (Romania) for Colivia
“A perfectly paced miniature, a chamber piece inside a Romanian tower block. Funny, heartfelt, with a wonderful rhythm. The director needs only 17 minutes to portray the three characters involved.”

The nomination for the European Film Academy Short Film 2010 goes to
Venus vs Me
by Natalie Teirlinck (Belgium)
“An experimental attempt to recount childhood memories from the interior with a complex montage technique. Pictures, sound and editing blend into multilayered storytelling. The director magnificently negotiates the puzzle.”