The creation of the European Film Academy (EFA) was the initiative of a group of Europe’s finest filmmakers brought together on the occasion of the first European Film Awards Ceremony held in November 1988. EFA was finally founded in 1989 as the European Cinema Society by its first president Ingmar Bergman and 40 filmmakers to advance the interests of the European film industry. Wim Wenders was elected as first chairman of the association which two years later was renamed European Film Academy.

The members of the European Film Academy will get to watch all nominated films and it is they who will vote for the overall winner, who will be presented at the European Film Awards Ceremony.The short film initiative is organised by the European Film Academy in co-operation with a series of film festivals throughout Europe . At each of these festivals, an independent jury presents one of the European short films in competition with a nomination in the short film category of the European Film Awards.

The winner:

EFA Short Film Nominee Grimstad
– HANOI – WARSZAWA (Hanoi – Warsaw)
Poland 2009, 30′, fiction
written & directed by: Katarzyna Klimkiewicz

Smuggled across borders, cheated by immoral intermediaries, trailed by police, at the mercy of foreigners – such is the fate of illegal immigrants from Vietnam who try to settle in Poland. Among them is young Mai Anh, whose boyfriend now works at a bazaar in Warsaw. Their meeting in a foreign country will not transpire as they had imagined.

Short Film Nominations 2010:

EFA Short Film Nominee Ghent
Norway 2009, 14′, fiction
written & directed by: Thomas Wangsmo

EFA Short Film Nominee Valladolid
– AMPELMANN (Lights)
Germany 2009, 14′, fiction
directed by: Giulio Ricciarelli

EFA Short Film Nominee Cork
France 2009, 12′, animation
written & directed by: Sophie Roze

EFA Short Film Nominee Angers
– BLIJF BIJ ME, WEG (Stay, Away)
The Netherlands 2009, 24 min., fiction
written & directed by: Paloma Aguilera Valdebenito

EFA Short Film Nominee Rotterdam
– ØNSKEBØRN (Out of Love)
Denmark 2009, 29′, documentary
directed by: Birgitte Stærmose

EFA Short Film Nominee Berlin
Belgium 2009, 27′, fiction
written & directed by: Nathalie Teirlinck

EFA Short Film Nominee Tampere
– LUMIKKO (The Little Snow Animal)
Finland 2009, 19′, documentary
directed by: Miia Tervo

EFA Short Film Nominee Cracow
Sweden 2010, 14′, animation
directed, designed & edited by: Jonas Odell

EFA Short Film Nominee Grimstad
– HANOI – WARSZAWA (Hanoi – Warsaw)
Poland 2009, 30′, fiction
written & directed by: Katarzyna Klimkiewicz

EFA Short Film Nominee Edinburgh
UK/Spain 2009, 16′, documentary
directed, produced & edited by: Anne Milne

EFA Short Film Nominee Vila do Conde
Austria/Argentina 2010, 40′, fiction
written & directed by: Catalina Molina

EFA Short Film Nominee Sarajevo
– RENDEZ-VOUS A STELLA-PLAGE (Rendezvous in Stella-Plage)
France 2009, 18′, fiction
written & directed by: Shalimar Preuss

EFA Short Film Nominee Locarno
– DIARCHIA (Diarchy)
Italy 2010, 20′, fiction
written & directed by: Ferdinando Cito Filomarino

EFA Short Film Nominee Venice
Germany 2010, 15′, animation
written, directed & designed by: David OReilly

EFA Short Film Nominee Drama
– ITT VAGYOK (Here I Am)
Hungary 2010, 36′, fiction
written & directed by: Bálint Szimler

More info: