The 67th Berlin International Film Festival has come to a close and the Golden Bear for Best Film went to a Hungarian feature, On Body and Soul (Testről és lélekről) by Ildikó Enyedi. But there were several prizes for short films, check out the winners below.

(Members of the Jury: Christian Jankowski, Kimberly Drew and Carlos Núñez)

Golden Bear for Best Short Film: Cidade Pequena (Small Town) by Diogo Costa Amarante

Silver Bear Jury Prize (Short Film): Ensueño en la Pradera (Reverie in the Meadowby Esteban Arrangoiz Julien

AUDI Short Film Award endowed with € 20,000, enabled by Audi: Street of Death by Karam Ghossein

Special Mention: Centauro (Centaur) by Nicolás Suárez

Berlin Short Film Nominee for the European Film AwardsOs Humores Artificiais (The Artificial Humorsby Gabriel Abrantes

Cidade Pequena (Small Town) by Diogo Costa Amarante

At the Berlinale’s Generation section the jury members are no older than those of the audience. Eleven children and seven teens award the best films with Crystal Bears. Special Mentions are given for outstanding achievements. Two international juries present further prizes in the Generation Kplus and Generation 14plus competition. Here are the short film winners.


Crystal Bear for the Best Short Film: Promise by Xie Tian, USA 2016
Set in a breath-taking landscape, this film tells the moving story of a Chinese boy. The convincing performances and masterful cinematography lend the film great authenticity.

Special Mention Short Film: Hedgehog’s Home by Eva Cvijanovic, Canada / Croatia 2016
The message of this tale, that a home of one’s own is very important, is beautifully conveyed by the creative use of felt animation. We were also impressed by the unusual verse form of the narrative in this stop-motion film.

Hedgehog’s Home by Eva Cvijanovic

The members of the International Jury Generation Kplus – Fabian Gasmia, Aneta Ozorek, Yoon Ga-eun – gave the following awards for short films:

The Special Prize of the Generation Kplus International Jury for the Best Short Film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk (The Children’s Charity of Germany): Aaba (Grandfather) by Amar Kaushik, India 2016
It tells a story of the circle of life in an elegiac and slow pace with a beautiful cinematography.

Special Mention: Sabaku by Marlies van der Wel, The Netherlands 2016
This very short film tells with simple but very efficient use of extremely skilled artistic animation technique the story of a bird that goes around the world to find a new friend. The jury was blown away by its pace and incredible joy of the filmmaker to entertain her audience.

Aaba (Grandfather) by Amar Kaushik


The members of the Youth Jury Generation 14plus – Rosa Ehrlich, Oscar R. Franck, Hannah Kähler, Luka Kowalewsky, Marie Kühn, Quinten Samrotzki, Rosa Schaefer Bastian – gave the following awards for short films:

Crystal Bear for the Best Short Film: Wolfe by Claire Randall, 2016, Australia
By means of its authentic narrative and tactful approach to a sensitive subject, this documentary manages to demystify a taboo without sentimentality or judgment. With impressive honesty and intimacy, the protagonist discloses his experiences of psychological illness, accompanied by lovingly animated memory sequences. We thank the filmmaker for this factually informative and deeply moving work.

Special Mention Short Film: SNIP by Terril Calder, 2016, Canada
This film takes the viewer on a journey into a painful chapter of a country’s history. The synthesis of diverse animation styles provides for a compelling and emotionally direct exploration of this often neglected subject. We would like to thank the director for this unconventional approach to opening our generation’s eyes to the past as we head towards the future.

SNIP by Terril Calder

The members of the Generation 14plus International Jury – Benjamin Cantu, Roberto Doveris, Jennifer Reeder – gave the following awards for shorts:

Special Prize of the Generation 14plus International Jury for the Best Short Film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education): The Jungle Knows You Better Than You Do by Juanita Onzaga, 2016, Belgium / Colombia
We give the special price for best short to a film that has a hybrid approach to the autobiographical. A film that hovers between the past and the present and yet has an intuitive way of showing us a character who couldn’t be closer to the filmmaker herself.

Special Mention: U Plavetnilo (Into the Blue) by Antoneta Alamat Kusijanović, 2017, Croatia / Slovenia / Sweden
Special mention goes to a film which reveals the complexities of adolescence, when its four characters must confront their expectations and desires against a dramatic seaside landscape.

The Jungle Knows You Better Than You Do by Juanita Onzaga

(Members of the Jury: Gizem Bayiksel, Sachiko Imai, Hassan Kamoga, Saadat Munir,
Marjo Pipinen, Carl Spence, Martin Wolkner)

Best Short Film: Min Homosyster (My Gay Sister) by Lia Hietala, 2017, Sweden / Norway

Min Homosyster (My Gay Sister) by Lia Hietala

via Berlinale